Keep on keeping on …

I had lunch with a friend on Saturday and we were talking about our jobs. How I was often frustrated with mine and how she really needed one soon as her contract with her current job was nearly up.

I asked her what she would do if money wasn’t an issue. She said she would do something like drawing or painting, or take up art classes. I told her I would write about anything.

Then she said, “It’s funny. All the fun stuff is the stuff that’s the hardest to make a living from”.

So every day I get up, go to work, do my job as best as I can, come home, recharge to do it all over again the next day. At least I’m writing … something … every day.  Which is more than what I was doing two years ago, which was dreaming of it.

Baby steps. If money were no object, I’d probably be doing the same thing I’m doing now. So even though sometimes the daily grind is frustrating and tiring and you really feel like you’re in a rat race, I’m glad it’s in the direction of something I never thought I would be doing.  It’s an evolution. From doing something I thought I wanted to do, to doing something I never want to do again, to realising what I always wanted to do, to then making steps to doing it, to finally – FINALLY – allowing myself to do it and develop it and continually learn and grow.

Evolution. And baby steps. Baby baby baby steps.

Taken from Jiuck's flickr page at http://www.flickr.com/photos/jiuck/

Taken from Jiuck’s flickr page at http://www.flickr.com/photos/jiuck/

Leave a Reply

