It’s all work ….

My favourite thing on Facebook that has nothing to do with my actual friends or my Facebook friends is Humans of New York. If I had a dollar for every time I thought, “why didn’t I think of doing something like that?”, I’d never have to think it coz that’s what I would be doing all day every day, going out into the world and meeting all kinds of people and finding their unique stories.

And Humans of New York have done it again. The picture and caption/explanation of the image(s) came up on my Facebook newsfeed and, wow:

Following your dreams is nothing but work

 

I love that. “… Following your dreams, successfully, is nothing but work”.

I really needed this right now.

Having a hard time seeing the forest from the trees, vocation-wise, because I thought I had worked past the “following your dreams” bit and was, you know, finally bloody following them.  But lately everything just seems HARD. Hard to work on what you love. Hard to be with who you love. Hard to do things outside of work to be a well-rounded person, someone you love.

This TED talk by Nigel Marsh is bookmarked on my laptop and I watch it every now and then to remind me that the idea of work/life balance is a bit of a weird one. It implies that you can have this neatly divided focus and time for work and for your life.  My favourite part of this talk is, ” … Being more balanced doesn’t mean dramatic upheaval in your life. With the smallest investment in the right places, you can radically transform the quality of your relationships and the quality of your life. Moreover, I think, it can transform society. Because if enough people do it, we can change society’s definition of success away from the moronically simplistic notion that the person with the most money when he dies wins, to a more thoughtful and balanced definition of what a life well lived looks like.”

I love this. CHANGING THE DEFINITION OF SUCCESS.

Work will always be work. It will not be about spending time in the sun with the husband in a five star resort by the pool, even if you are a five star resort reviewer who gets to take their husband on flights with them everywhere.  Coz you’re still going to have to file that story, speak to the management, get it through to your editor, ensure it gets read, ensure it doesn’t read like a dog wrote it.  It’s still work.

So Brandon Stanton from Humans of New York is definitely right.  There’s always work involved in following your dreams.  So now I know that this means that all that work better on something you believe in and is worth the effort, otherwise you are definitely not following your dream.

There is no inspirational meme on the interwebs right now that can succinctly mirror this idea, even if its an image of a sunrise or a young girl doing the “heart” sign with her hands or if you put a hipster filter over it.  I’m not even really sure if those do anything to inspire me anymore, because the urge to punch the screen sometimes becomes too strong.

Leave a Reply

